MOM

Anju Prasad
3 min readMay 19, 2021

--

Dear son,
Well, let me be frank with you. Being a mom was well not in my plan. At least not this soon. I have seen a lot of new moms put in many thoughts of being a mother. Well, I am writing this down just for you to know how your journey started in this world. I hope this writing also helps you to treat your girl the way she deserves to be treated. I want you to keep remembering this whenever you feel down and you want to keep moving. Because at the end of this you will know how special you are!
July 01, 2.00 AM. That is when it all started. I could feel water leaking down my legs. I woke up and it took me a minute to realize that my water broke. I woke up your Appa and told him that “I think my water broke”. He jumped up startled. I still remember his startled face and the first thing he told me was “Don’t worry!” which was just opposite to his expression. He woke up your grandpa, grandma, and uncle. I just stood there going through a lot of emotions at a go and of course the water leaking down.
I was worried, scared, and maybe there are a lot more emotions that are still not named yet, and I was going through all of them. Well, we reached the hospital. It was covid time and the people in hospital dint allow many visitors. So I had to go inside alone. They took me to a room with lots of beds. On the way, my water was leaking and it was quite embarrassing for me. At least I had my mask on!!
Well, I changed into a hospital dress and they put me on the drip. They were waiting for me to get in pain. I lied there with all these machines around me not sure what to do. And one of the nurses gave me an apparatus and asked me to press a button whenever you kicked. Which you did often. The doctor also checked on me and she told me I would deliver by evening or so and she told me to get some sleep.
And it was suddenly that I experienced a pain shooting up. I started twisting on the bed in pain. I called the nurse and told her that I am feeling pain. The nurse would insert her hand and check if I was ready to deliver which was painful. Apparently, the vagina needs to dilate to 10 cm or so for the delivery to happen. I was trying to hold on to the rod near my bed hoping that would help soothe the pain. And it was suddenly I realized people lifting me out of bed into another bed and transferring me to another room. On the way, I read the board on top and it said “Labor room”.

--

--

Anju Prasad
0 Followers

A software tester by profession and an aspiring writer by heart. Want to light in positivity inside people's mind